The Thirsty Thirty : Day Seventeen – Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale

“Subtle yet familiar flavors of vanilla and oak are imparted to this special ale as it rests in the charred barrels.  Pleasantly smooth and robust, Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale may also be served as an aperitif or after dinner drink.” from Lexington Brewing and Distilling Co.

Alright I totally did not time today’s beer well. I don’t have an IPA, but Happy International IPA Day! But as my bestie Laura says “It’s never a bad day for an IPA,” so I’ll have one another day. Anyways…

All in all Welp. I love bourbon. I love beer. I don’t love this. And I thought it was going to be so magical…but I’m not giving up. I think there are a few more bourbon ales out there…Odell Bourbon StoutsBourbon Barrel Ard Ri (I really really really want to try this one)…

Recommend to a friend? Nein. I don’t hate it, but it’s not for me.

Safe for lightweights? 7.9% Let’s have a glass of water after this one.

Wahh waaammp.

LabelingOh hi, I’m aged in a barrel, so I must have wood panelling on my label.

Plus one? Nah, but I’ll take a glass of bourbon though thank you very much.

Leave a Reply

