The Thirsty Thirty : Day Eighteen – Trappistes Rochefort 8

Happy Friday yeah!

All in all Holy moly, this is…whew. You can be sure I added this to my special occasion beers. Robust, smooth, husky (yes, husky) flavor. Keeps an amazing smooth top all the way, and feels like you’re drinking a thick glass of milk. Trappist beers are a nice treat every once in a while, but it’s a pricey habit to keep up.

Now I’m jealous of a lot of what my younger brother has been able to do so far in life (going to all four years of high school in Paris instead of just my one year, being awesome & smarter than I am, etc etc), but I’m crazy envious of the fact that he got to visit the Westvleteren Brewery in Belgium (where they got the glass I was able to use in the picture) to see the brewing/monk operations. He and my parents not only were able to have dinner there (where everything was grown/raised/made within the monastery grounds), but they were also able to attend service with the monks, and leave with a case of the beer. Unfortunately, it isn’t sold commercially in the US. Trust me, I was so sad to miss that family vacation. It’s now on my to do list.

Recommend to a friend? This isn’t for everyone. If you’d rather have a Miller Genuine Draft 64 (I personally thought MGD was Miller God Damnwhatareyouthinking) than try a brown ale or porter, then don’t even get near this one.

Safe for lightweights? 9.2% woops. I guess I should’ve had some dinner before polishing this off.

Amen!

LabelingNothing fancy, but perfect for a Trappist beer.

Plus one? Shoooey I don’t know about that-several of these would be like having a gigantic loaf of bread

Leave a Reply

