The Thirsty Thirty : Day Twenty-Two – Three Floyd’s Alpha King

“3 Floyd’s flagship beer, Alpha King is a big American pale ale that pours a deep amber with a creamy head. This ale is brewed with Centennial, Cascade, and Warrior hops giving it an intense citrus aroma and a crisp hoppy finish.” from Three Floyd’s

All in all…


Dear Alpha King,

This is a thank you note/love letter. Though my mother taught better and thank you notes should really be handwritten please don’t think less of me. I’m pretty sure you’re great enough to excuse me for that.

Though Hoegaarden was my first beer love, you were the first pale ale that demonstrated how many other incredible beers there were out there and really made me fall for Pale Ales/IPAs. Oh Alpha King, how you totally swept me off my feet. After each sip I shake my head…it’s just so wondrous! Yes, if we’re looking at Pale Ales/IPAs Ruination has the most “kick you in your teeth knock you flat on your face” flavor, but I’m not looking for that every day – this has the perfect balance.

I was sipping my coffee this morning, trying to think of some different ways I could make the end of The Thirsty Thirty more interesting. Why not try to figure out what beer I could drink from here to eternity? You’re in the running, let me tell you.

Recommend to a friend? If someone buys you a six pack of Alpha King, you know they’re a great friend to keep around.

Safe for lightweights? 6.something% Don’t worry about it, just have one of these.

See love letter above.

Plus one? I’ll take another good sir!

And a little endnote on this one…eight more days ‘till The Thirsty Thirty is done, and I’m getting pretty excited and frankly nervous. See I’m notorious for creating grand goals, resolutions, ideas, whatnot and abandoning them fairly quickly. So this is going to be rather momentous for me – actually monumental…but no pressure right? I’m excited that I’ll have really completed a goal that I put in front of me, excited that it’s something I’m truly passionate about and that other friends are passionate about as well. Through this I’ve honestly become a lot more open to trying every beer I can as well. And I’m nervous that I’ll miss a day between here and day 30, but I have twenty-two days behind me and eight more fabulous beers ahead of me!

Leave a Reply

