The Thirsty Thirty : Day Twenty-Four – Southern Star Buried Hatchet Stout

Jet-black in color, this monster smells of coffee and chocolate.  The taste is much of the same, with hints of creamy toffee and roasted malt.  Smooth and delicious, this medium bodied ale is all about the malts, but has enough hop bitterness to be balanced.” from Southern Star Brewing

All in all Don’t mess with Texas. This Southern Stout is nothing to be trifled with. Incredibly…well, it really is stout…robust. Very strong in flavor, and it overflows with the malted & burnt coffee smell. All in all it’s not for me, but it is one helluva beer.

Recommend to a friend? If you are a stout lover, I would recommend this. But if stouts are not your preferred flavor, then I would bypass it for something else.

Safe for lightweights? 8.25% I have to admit I didn’t finish this one tonight. (shhhh!) I’m just not feeling this one this evening and it’s getting me quite tired actually, so I’ll be off to bed now to keep reading Watchmen (finally!) and rest my sleepy eyes. It’s only 10 pm? Well yes I do turn into an old lady some evenings.

Gold star my darling.

Plus one? No merci.

And for tomorrow? Let’s just say it involves some pink elephants.

Leave a Reply

