Pittsburgh, 115 lbs of Jeromeo, and first brewfest

Here’s what went down this weekend…

I got to see my awesome friends Eric & Molly and their fantastic, adorable, and amazing 10 day old baby. He’s the best. By far the coolest 10 day old I’ve met in my short lifetime. A weekend around great people, two nights in the most heavenly bed (down blankets mmm), a run on beautiful streets, and this guy:

I was also spoiled and found a Punkin Ale (hallelujah!)

And went to my first brewfest: it was modest (it was in Mt. Lebanon, a suburb of Pittsburgh) but still had some great local breweries show up.

Here are some of the things I learned for future brewfests:

1. Those tiny glasses are deceiving

2. Pace oneself. See above. It was so tempting to down several half-size glasses right as we arrived. I resisted, but it’s not easy when there are just so many great brews to try.

3. Keep track of what you’re having-I should have used my phone and pretended I was texting or something. I had so many good beers, but I can’t remember what they were or from which breweries they came for the life of me. [P.S. I have to give a shout out to Pittsburgh East End Brewing‘s Pedal Pale Ale. THAT I definitely remember. Oh so good.]

4. If you are the brewfest coordinator, please please have more than 2 (count ’em 2) Porta Johns. I mean come on. This is simple. Brews = need for bathrooms. Brewfest = need for lots of bathrooms.

4 comments
  1. Cathy said:

    Love brewfests! I definitely agree with your tips and have a few more to add. Since there can be many more brews to sample than physically possible, our group will share samples. Sometimes all you need is one sip to know whether you like a brew or not. Plus, you can try more things and pace yourself better. It also helps if you’re conserving drink tickets.

    I’ve also seen people wearing strings of pretzels around their necks as a snack between drinks.

    • rebeccapatrick said:

      Anything that involves a string of food around one’s neck is a golden idea. And sharing tastes is such a good idea, especially for lightweights like myself. You get to try even more than normal!

  2. ce. said:

    The Porta-Johns comment is hilarious.
    I can’t wait for you to try my friend’s homebrew. When are we hanging out?!

    • rebeccapatrick said:

      So soon I hope! I can’t wait to try that either!

Leave a Reply

