Lips of Faith Kick & X-Men

I meant to post this eons ago, but I’ve been adjusting to a new schedule of

1. Training for my 10K on October 23rd. THREE WEEKS. I’m not sure I should have looked at the calendar. There’s not enough time!

2. Trying my hand at cyclocross with my new bike (see above for a blurry picture of Kona Jake the Snake): it’s loads of fun, but man am I wiped. I’m currently working on my mounts without looking like a chicken with its head cut off, and desperately searching for some leg strength to get me up hills without falling over sideways.

Try fitting all of this in between work and sunset, and with legs that are only used to mayyybe one or two “workouts” per week. And try balancing training for the 10K with wanting to do a few cross races at the same time. Yeesh. In over my head much? But as long as I’m having fun with it all, I can’t complain. I wish I could be one of those people who can go run 4 miles just out of the blue, or who can bomb up crazy hills with legs of steel, but alas, I wasn’t born with that superpower.

Speaking of superheros…

Last Saturday afternoon was spent with New Belgium‘s Kick (part of their Lips of Faith series) and X-Men First Class. It was awesome. You should’ve been there. You’d have been all about Michael Fassbender as Magneto as well.

All in all… But really, about this ale. What I can’t get over is how wonderfully the pumpkin/cranberry is infused in this sour ale. The Kick isn’t all about the pumpkin flavor. It isn’t an all out fall pumpkin ale. (Even though there are some cool Jack-O-Lanterns on the bottle) It isn’t a cranberry fruit ale. This is a great sour ale, that is heightened and enhanced by a pumpkin and cranberry flavor. Its identity as a sour ale doesn’t have to take a backseat to having other organic flavors in the mix. And what I love and am always dazzled by with sour ales, is that with a truly splendid ale, the flavor literally dances around and sparkles. Cheesy maybe? But it’s true. Really, I would love to know how this magic happened. My hats off to you brewers. You are truly gentlemen and ladies.

Recommend to a friend? With the tall boy size, find a friend to split this with…cheers! I had a hard time wasting some of mine but…

Safe for lightweights? At 8.5% slow yourself down a little bit.

When and where… Leave this out of the refrigerator for a few minutes before pouring it – at refrigerator temperature the tartness, the little tongue curl at the end is softened, muted almost. It’s best still a little cool, but I enjoyed it more towards room temp than truly chilled.

And a very special shout out to another fantastic bottle design (and beer!) by Rogue

2 comments
  1. Cathy said:

    This beer sounds fantastic! I love pumpkin beers, but my husband doesn’t like ones that are too overwhelmingly pumpkin. So this might be a good compromise. Plus, I’m intrigued by the cranberry and sour. Thanks for including the link b/c I found the beer nearby.

  2. rebeccapatrick said:

    Yay I’m so glad someone else is going to get to try it! It’s so lovely.

Leave a Reply

