on getting over a cold : with Left Hand Fade to Black

I’m solidly into week 2 of my annoying fall cold, and very much over being sick. Week 1 I did everything I was supposed to do:

(a) Rest rest rest.

(b) Drink tea & honey.

(c) Don’t attempt to “sweat” it out.

(d) Don’t have caffeine or alcohol.

(e) No brews, no baking…no one needs my gross cold cooties

None of this seemed to work, as my cold took a turn for the worst on Sunday. So you know what? Forget the doctors orders. I’m going old school. You best believe some hot toddies are in my future, too.

A hearty, strong ale to give me strength & another superb label design by Left Hand Brewing to make me feel all nice inside. Seriously, Left Hand Brewing, I have a total crush on you. You make cheeseball smile worthy beer, and wrap them in wonderful design. You are giving your design team a nice cheery bonus for Christmas right? If not, let me know and I’ll send them cookies. You think I’m joking?

I can’t really elaborate on the beer, seeing as this cold has left me unable to smell or taste anything with any kind of depth, but I officially classify this as a GET BETTER BEER. I’m looking forward to trying this when my taste buds are working properly, because even now I can feel the bite of  chili linger in the top of my mouth as an aftertaste. Clears your head right up, at least for a moment or two, and a 7.5% ABV gives you quite a cheery attitude. Volume 3 of Fade to Black is a “Pepper” American Porter, and by their description,

“Imagine Robert DeNiro sitting in your darkened parlour near the fire in his Louis Cyphre persona smoking a Tuscan cigar. This may be the beer with which to save (or lose) your soul. Dried fruit flavors entwined with smoky pepper and licorice embossed on roasty malt sweetness open on your tongue as the slow warmth of chilis creep up on your tongue and throat, finishing in an herbal smoke ring flourish.”

1 comment
  1. Wow. THAT is a lovely label… Who knew Old English could still make it happen?

Leave a Reply

