25 Beers of Christmas: Day Six – Thomas Creek Up the Creek Extreme IPA

Just a whiff of this beer made me feel like I had already been chomping down on raw hops for a few minutes there, and THIS beer is totally herbaceous dude. Seriously here, it is truly herbaceous. It pours a gritty mud brown, and smelled musty to me. There’s this unfortunate smell that your clothes, PFD (personal floatation device), and spray skirt get after being damp from kayaking or rafting many days in a row, a smell which you will never forget and stays in cars for days…bad news is this beer’s aroma reminded me of that. Not the best smelling beer in the world. But here’s the thing: I can’t put this thing down.

It isn’t clean, it isn’t bright, it isn’t citrusy. It’s messy, dirty, raw, earthy, different, and exactly what you want from an Imperial IPA with a kayaker losing his paddle on the label. I’m so thankful that I got a beer in the six pack that makes me want to get up off my butt and go do something. We need more of these in the world. Great beer to watch hockey to I might add.

Recommend to a friend? I wouldn’t recommend this to everyone, and I might not even recommend it to an IPA lover. If you want something straight forward or something you can have and remark about its subtleties and well-crafted complexity, then don’t have this.

How much snow are you willing to scrape off your car for this? (3) Ten minutes

Safe for lightweights? 12.5% ABV. A fourth of this bottle probably isn’t safe for you, but you should still have it.

Plus one? I truly wish I could. Truly madly deeply do.

Happy accident…lemon squares are really good with this, and takes away some of the earthy character that you may not care for.

Leave a Reply

