25 Beers of Christmas: Day Nine – Breckenridge Christmas Ale

I may or may not have just had a cinnamon roll and cookies for dinner. Possibly.

Isn’t choosing our own dinners one of the perks of being an “adult?” To be honest, I’m not much of a cook, and my mind goes completely blank when I stare into the fridge trying to come up with dinner. But I did the unthinkable this week and made my own pasta sauce from scratch. True, I ended up with bits of tomatoes in my hair and beer, but it was overall a great success.

I used this recipe from the baking/cooking goddess at The Smitten Kitchen, and it was gloriously simple. I did use a potato masher to mash the tomatoes for basically thirty straight minutes after her recommended 45 minutes of simmering the ingredients, so the sauce wouldn’t be so chunky. And I think next time I’ll leave in the onion much longer (I got paranoid about having too much onion in there and took it out thirty minutes in), because mine was a teensy bit acidic without it. I’m hoping to make this again soon, and post some pretty pictures, and maybe it will be even better the next time around. Righto – day nine’s beer!

All in all…Woah this poured a lot darker than I expected – I was thinking it would be a light carmel, but this turned out just a matte, hazy brown. And with that festive label I would also expect there to be some nutmeg, cinnamon, or any kind of spice in this right front & center, but alas, none were found. Alright, no spices, so is there anything else that Breckenridge gives us for Christmas? Unfortunately not. But hey, I did still enjoy it. It was definitely a good ale (according to Breckenridge it is an American Style Strong Ale), I just prefer something with more “oomph” for Christmas.

Recommend to a friend? No.

How much snow are you willing to scrape off your car for this? (2) Five minutes

Safe for lightweights? 7.4% Probably not, as this is an easy-drinker so you’ll most likely finish it pretty quickly and move on to another.

Plus one? No thank you.

What Christmas beers do you make a priority during the holiday season? 

2 comments
  1. Yeah. I thought it was a good afternoon beer… but got it hoping there would be some spice. (And ditto the color comment.) Bummer. The label is enough for me, though.

  2. thebakeandbrew said:

    You’re absolutely right – the label was perfect for a Christmas Ale 🙂

Leave a Reply

