25 Beers of Christmas: Day Ten – Wells and Young’s Banana Bread Beer

All in all…I just had to try this one. And no. Just. No. This is not for me. I already have a tricky relationship with fruit/vegetable beer, and though I commend Wells & Young’s for creating a really unique beer, bananas + beer are not a combination I think I love. The aroma to me really is like bananas that are mostly speckled and about a day away from attracting fruit flies, and the taste is distracting me from appreciating if it is a well crafted beer in and of itself. I wish I felt differently, as I’m head over heels with their Double Chocolate Stout, but I just can’t finish this one.

Recommend to a friend? If you’re adventurous in food/beer that you try, I think you should try this at least once.

How much snow are you willing to scrape off your car for this? (1) Stay inside and rummage through the cabinet for scotch

Safe for lightweights? 5.2% ABV.

Plus one? Nein

Alright, I need to catch the rest of the USGP Deschutes Brewery Cup that is on live right now at Cycling Dirt!

3 comments
  1. G-LO said:

    We were just discussing this beer last night. I had it last May at a graduation party. I thought it was ok, but it did have an almost artificial banana flavor. Weird stuff. I appreciate your honesty!

    Cheers!
    G-LO

    • thebakeandbrew said:

      Thank you! I’m definitely trying to figure out how to be gracefully honest 🙂

      • G-LO said:

        I know what you mean. I have the occasional rant (they’re pretty fun to write!), but for the most part, I try to offer “constructive criticism”. Heh

Leave a Reply

