25 Beers of Christmas: Day Thirteen – Sun King Wee Mac

This is the second day in a row I’ve picked up a beer that has “quaffable” in its bottle/label description. Ahhmazing. Because you know what you do after having a lame day? You come home, have a Sun King Wee Mac, appreciate vocabulary, and watch dogs in cars. (thank you Laura!)

Ah I feel so much better. Don’t lie. That was inspirational. Doesn’t hanging your head out the window look so peaceful?

All in all…I really thought that this Scottish ale was actually quaffable – it is very mild, smooth, but not in a velvety or heavy sense like a stout, and the hops are delicately understated. It has a genuinely nice flavor – I think that if the Wee Mac was to be personified it would absolutely come help you change your tire or come pick you up if you were stranded somewhere. If it had a truck it would help you move, as well.

I can also attest to the fact that it is a very good beer to have in a plastic cup at a cyclocross race…truth. It also makes me want to eat many many carmel candies. Though I liked changing things up with a can and truly enjoyed this beer, I’m not the biggest fan of the design. There is a lot going on for the eye to process, and the style of the ale on the bottle was easier to read than the name itself. On second look I can make out the “Wee Mac” and see the blue and white, but whenever my eyes shift back to the can they cross for a minute in order to adjust to everything.

Recommend to a friend? Yes, I really would

How much snow are you willing to scrape off your car for this? (3) Ten minutes – (4) Twenty minutes what!

I haven’t had enough Scottish Ales to compare this to any others, so right now I’m between those. Part of the (4) is attributed to the fact that I would (see below) have several more of these, and that it is low in ABV, which I really appreciate.

Safe for lightweights? Yes it is, at 5.3% ABV

Plus one? Because this is so mild, but still retains flavor that I really like, I would definitely have another and stick to it for the evening. It’s a beer that is really satisfying to me, and that provides enough flavor so that I don’t get bored.

Leave a Reply

