25 Beers of Christmas: Day Nineteen – Oskar Blues Mama’s Little Yella Pils

Tip: when you have a daily beer goal set up, remember to buy more on Saturday if you’re in Indiana where there are no liquor sales on Sundays. Since I consume my brews & take notes the night before (I don’t drink and proofread), I thankfully had one left in the fridge. Huzzah!

All in all…there are some people who think Pilsners are overrated. Some who think there’s nothing to them, no taste, just meh. When it comes to a well-crafted one, I beg to differ. It’s true that there are many many beers that have given Pilsners a bad rap, but whatever you do, don’t give up! Don’t give in, don’t let watered down, half-assed beers ruin an entire style for you. I was worried about this guy, had to travel an hour and a half in my Timbuk2, get warm, then cool down again – but it was a trooper. After a day of baking, and family time, thank goodness for Mama’s Little Yella Pils. Baking is so therapeutic, it is. But standing on your feet for several hours with frosting on your glasses and on your forehead called for this. And even though I’ve very much enjoyed all the winter warmers, I’ve been waiting for a beer that had some clean lines to it.

Recommend to a friend? Oui.

How much snow are you willing to scrape off your car? (3) Ten minutes. As long as it’s not yellow.

Safe for lightweights? 5.3% ABV I’ve found pilsners to be a reliable lightweight beer. Should I be referring to the lower ABV beers as session beers?

Plus one? Yes please, and a back porch to drink it on.

3 comments
  1. G-LO said:

    I know what you mean about PIlsners. I totally dismissed them prior to last spring. But then I had the Sam Adams Noble Pils, followed by the Victory Prima Pils, and then this one by Oskar Blues. All three are excellent! The Victory is the best of the three, but not by much. And the Oskar Blues has the can advantage. Particularly helpful when it warms up and you want to drink a refreshing beer at the pool/lake/beach.

    Lovely review accompanied by equally lovely photos! Cheers!

  2. The Wookie said:

    Awesome brew and great review. Love all the brews from Oskar Blues. This one is especially nice in the summer with the lower ABV than some of Oskar Blues’ other offerings.

    • thebakeandbrew said:

      Thank you!! I’m looking forward to trying more Oskar Blues…and yes, this had summer written all over it. Plus, who can resist a good, crisp beer in a can?

Leave a Reply

