25 Beers of Christmas: Day Twenty-Three – Abita Commemorative Mystery Beer

Happy Friday!

Tonight’s beer is a mystery…my father works at the glass company who makes Abita’s bottles, and he brought me this commemorative edition that they produced for the 25th Anniversary. However, I have yet to discover exactly what style it is. I have been able to find descriptions of a 25th Anniversary Abita through the interwebs that is a Vanilla Doubledog – but until I can get the official information I will leave style out of this. And I was frankly very nervous that I wouldn’t like it, but thankfully, soon enough I was gushing about how tasty this was.

All in all…

This is hella good.

I guess you want more details than that, right?

It isn’t extremely aromatic but does smell faintly like a chocolate chip milkshake with Heath bar toffee bits. This Abita is a very balanced & mild dark beer, as you notice the malts but they don’t weigh down your taste buds. Some beers that are extremely malted can feel very heavy to me. But this is quite light, dark without being biting, and the mouthfeel is very silky and gentle. The subtle hints of cookie dough, vanilla extract, brown sugar, and toffee all weave in and out smoothly – sometimes coming together, sometimes standing alone. It was a delight, and the kind of beer that makes ones day.

Recommend to a friend? Yes yes yes! And tell me if you see any more of these. I’ll be right over.

Safe for lightweights? ABV unknown

How much snow are you willing to scrape off your car? (4) Twenty minutes what!

Plus one? If I could I would. Really truly.

2 comments
  1. G-LO said:

    This beer sounds delicious! I’ve enjoyed a few Abita beers in the past, so your descriptions and my faith in the brewer tells me that I should try this. Think it will make it to the East Coast, i.e. Philly?

    Well done on the review and the photos!

    Merry Christmas!
    G-LO

    • thebakeandbrew said:

      It was delicious indeed! I have no idea where it is available…and I’m still waiting to hear back from one of the reps who was in charge of producing these bottles for Abita regarding what style it is. But as soon as I find that out I’ll update this so hopefully I can find more like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

