25 Beers of Christmas: Day Twenty-Five – Delirium Noël

Merry Christmas to you and yours!

We’re here. Day 25! I’m incredibly excited about about this beer, and incredibly sad to report that my beernog was a major flop – but I lived, I learned. It’s okay, because I have this to step in as a holiday drink & this amazing movie our family watched for our post-dinner post-presents film:

I know. It literally took my breath away. I can’t recommend this movie enough – I just couldn’t look away, and it had my heart racing every minute. This was one of my gifts to my brother, but after watching it, I ordered another for myself. It’s one that I can’t wait to watch over and over – a rainy day movie, a movie to make you feel alive, a movie for Christmas, a movie to share. As for the Delirium…

All in all…What a fantastic beer to end this series on – the Delirium Noël is uber sweet, dark, and carbonated like woah. The mouthfeel is akin to champagne that we had this morning for mimosas – the sweetness is similar, and there’s a bit of the same mouth-puckering feel. I love this mouthfeel, because it stands apart from any of the beers I’ve had this month, and makes the beer feel extremely festive. Even though it is a Belgian Strong Ale, it doesn’t taste like a big beer, per se – there’s substance to it for sure, but the carbonation makes it feel like a delight to have, not a heavy beer to make your way through. This would be a great beer to combat any post-Christmas celebration blues. Or to help kick off your Christmas festivities!

Recommend to a friend? I would – this was shared with my brother and father. I may not recommend it to someone who doesn’t typically like Belgian beers, as the carbonation may be too distracting.

Safe for lightweights? 10.0% ABV No it is not – I had a half-glass of this baby.

How much snow are you willing to scrape off your car? (4) Twenty minutes what?

Plus one? Ooh not with that ABV. But it’s pleasant to drink, so excluding that factor I would love one.

I’m happy to say I had so much fun doing a second month-themed round of beer observations, and I’ll be honest that I don’t know what’s next. I do much better when I have a specific schedule of posting, rather than doing it at random, so in the next few days I’ll be deciding what route I want to take here. I hope you’ll come back on New Years Day to see what I have planned!

Here’s a wrap up of five beers I remember fondly from the last month:

(1) Founders Backwoods Bastard

(2) Great Divide Hibernation Ale

(3) Brooklyn Black Chocolate Stout

(4) Shiner Holiday Cheer

(5) Abita Commemorative Mystery Beer

4 comments
  1. ce. said:

    Loved this series, Rebecca! And holy whoa, Batman. I need to see that snowboarding movie. That looks absolutely incredible.

  2. thebakeandbrew said:

    Thank you Newg! And yes, you absolutely need to see it. You know how some movie trailers just show you all the awesome stuff, so when you see the movie all the excitement is over? Not the case here. The trailer is probably 1/20th of how incredible this movie is. It’s absolutely indescribable.

  3. Barleywhiner said:

    This series was a fun read. Thanks for taking the time to do it.

    • thebakeandbrew said:

      I’m so glad you enjoyed it – and I hope you like my project for January too!

Leave a Reply

