Cookies & Cans : Hot Toddy

Friday I put a six-pack of Hopslam in my refrigerator, so naturally, Saturday morning I was hit with the most horrid cold. Hopslam must wait…le sigh…Instead of drinking a canned beer (my taste buds are wonky) or baking cookies (and transmitting my cold to whoever eats them…ew, gross), I’m having my first hot toddy today. I need some relief other re-boiling water over and over again so I can stick my face in the steam. I was so happy that this worked, at least for a few minutes – though it did make me thirsty, it honestly helped clear my head and was dangerously sweet & tasty. This isn’t going to cure you of your cold, but if anything, the bourbon can help make you feel a wee bit cheerier. I’d prescribe this for the end of a truly terrible, windy, icy, and cold winter day.

Hot Toddy Wonder

Recipe is from Tracy Shutterbean. Thank you darling.
2 Tablespoons honey
1 teaspoon grated ginger root
1 ounce or more bourbon. (Or pour a splash more in when no one’s looking)
Juice from one large lemon (or to taste)
8 ounces hot water

1. Cut a two inch piece of ginger root, and using the side of a spoon, scrape off the skin to peel, and then grate.
2. Put honey, bourbon, lemon juice, and ginger root in an empty glass measuring cup. I started off with half the lemon juice, and added more later to make sure I didn’t use too much.
3. Boil the water, and pour 8 ounces in to the measuring glass. If you need to, stir until the honey is fully dissolved. Let this steep for 2-3 minutes.
4. Strain the toddy mixture into a serving glass, and enjoy your few minutes of sweetness. And the bourbon. Always enjoy bourbon.

I hope to kick this cold soon, as I want to get back on my feet to bake cookies and enjoy some canned beer. But never fear, if I’m not well by Wednesday I’ll still post something pretty for you to look at, drink and/or eat.

3 comments
  1. daniel said:

    Hot toddy is a wonderful thing. Never done it with ginger before but makes sense. Now to catch a cold.

    See also: itsafuckingbourbon.com

    • thebakeandbrew said:

      Turns out rum and gin toddies are equally delicious, especially packed full of mint leaves. And equally kinda sorta effective at drinking away the cold.

      • daniel said:

        The Russians do shots of vodka with black pepper as a cold remedy.

        Got a cookie recipe for you to try. Gonna post soon.

Leave a Reply

