Baking with beer: New Belgium Trippel Pretzel Rolls with Ham

I would love to tell you in delicious detail about how adorable and tasty these pretzel rolls are. That the combination of sweet dough, with salty ham, and feisty mustard is in the running for the perfect game day snack. But that’s where it ends, because my goodness, all I can think about are lemon cupcakes.

And waffles. Lemon cupcakes with lemon cream cheese frosting, and Belgian waffles. Waffles for breakfast and cupcakes for lunch…extremely balanced meals right?

This is an aspect of my life where I have a one-track mind. I have a lot of self-control when going out, I can just have one beer when I’m out with friends (I usually have to drive home. Be safe my friends!). I can keep my cool with extremely hot-headed customers. I can patiently wait for about everyone else to stop talking before I start. But if I start thinking about a food…look out. It’s a little bit like being unable to just leave a crooked painting or picture on the wall. So bear with this oddity of mine, and maybe you’ll see a cupcake or waffle recipe coming up here pretty soon.

(I hope you’re okay with the Instagram pictures today – I have to borrow someone else’s camera for all my pictures usually (since I don’t have one myself), so I’m a little beholden to their schedule. This weekend I had to get buddy buddy with my iPhone.)

New Belgium Trippel Pretzel Rolls with Ham
(pretzel recipe from Smitten Kitchen)

1 cup water
1 cup New Belgium Trippel (or other tripel)
1 Tablespoon + 2 teaspoons sugar
1 packet active dry yeast
5-6 cups All-Purpose flour
1 Tablespoon salt
1/2 cup chopped, cooked ham (I found mine in the meat aisle at Marsh)
cooking spray, canola or vegetable oil
1/4 cup baking soda
egg yolk from one large egg
poppy seeds
your choice of mustard

Italicized ingredients/measurements are those differing from the original recipe. 

1. Mix water and beer together. Warm mixture to 100-110 degrees F. I used a candy thermometer to measure temp, which is very important in proofing yeast. Mix water/beer with 1 Tablespoon sugar in a medium mixing bowl, and sprinkle with one packet yeast. Let rest around 10 minutes – the yeast should gradually foam up.

2. Mix one cup flour into yeast and mix slowly with large whisk until combined-ish…there will still be chunks of flour that won’t combine thoroughly. Gradually add salt and 4 cups flour. Switch to a wooden spoon to mix, then knead when the spoon isn’t cutting it. If the dough is still sticky enough to pull onto your hands, keep adding flour until warm and tacky but smooth.

3. Grease a larger bowl (or just clean your first one out), transfer dough, lightly spray top of yeast with oil (really really lightly!), cover with towel, and let rise in a warm place for about one hour. Dough should have almost doubled in size.

4. Punch down several times and let rest for ten minutes. Grease three cookie sheets (or put wax paper on your counter if you only have one or two).

5. Tear off a golf ball sized piece of dough, then flatten with your hands on counter or cutting board into a square shape (about 1/4 – 1/2 inch thick). Put bits of ham on one side of the square, and simply roll up (you’ll need to use your judgement here about the amount of ham). Pinch all ends to seal, and roll to get your…roll shape back. (Eloquent eh?)

6. Place on cookie sheets and keep covered with kitchen towel as you work. Place cookie sheets by your stove, and boil 2 inches of water in a large saucepan. When at the boiling point, dump baking soda and remaining sugar in water (do this quickly as it will foam up a lot), and turn down to a simmer. Using a slotted spoon, boil rolls for about 1-2 minutes and place back on cookie sheet.

7. Brush rolls with an egg yolk mixed with about 1 Tablespoon milk and sprinkle with poppyseeds. Bake at 450 degrees for 13 minutes. Keep your eye on the rolls toward the end, as my oven tends to be a lot hotter than yours may be.

8. Enjoy with mustard or topping of your choice! (I personally prefer the mustard, it holds up the sweetness of the pretzel & salty ham) These can be left uncovered for about a day.

3 comments
    • thebakeandbrew said:

      Thank you!! I’ll definitely check it out – you may see some of my pictures coming that way soon!

Leave a Reply

