what if beer isn’t an option?

What do you do if beer isn’t an option?

I’ve mentioned being a “lightweight” before – that’s something I’ve always been conscious of and just had to work around. I primarily just watch the ABV of beers and maintain a lot of self-awareness. I am (I think we all are) glad beer is alcoholic, because without it, beer would simply be something else (a whole other discussion entirely). But I would be perfectly content if all beer was 4% ABV. I really would. I would get to try more than one at a time!

That’s been a challenge, but I deal with it and use to help me appreciate the beer in front of me. It also allows me to spend a little more on that one beer. (I can actually afford to have a sour!) However, and here’s the more personal bit, I’ve recently started taking medicine that does not mix well with alcohol. It isn’t terribly serious or dangerous, but simply having one, say Upland Wheat (4.8%!) makes me feel like I’ve had five, and pretty much results in a mild/ugggghhh hangover no matter how much water I drink or how much food I eat beforehand. Essentially, it’s making me feel terrible.

So what’s a girl to do?

I’m going to take a break from beer for a while, and see if cutting that out helps things at all. Word on the street is that making soup helps.

Normally I would write out the recipe, even if I don’t change anything, because usually with baking I write different or more specific directions. But this soup was so easy and had such few steps that I’m going to direct you right to (never home)maker’s Easy Thai Mushroom Soup…now I don’t know how mine ended up looking like broth instead of coconut soup, but it still tasted delicious. The one thing I would add, though, is that I preferred this on the second day after all the flavors were able to develop and get a lot spicier.

We’ll see how this goes, and if anyone has suggestions on the “no beer” adventure, I’m all ears!


1 comment
  1. Muna said:

    The soup sounds delicious! I dont drink much now also since having to take medicine daily. But when I have a drink I do it with a meal or away from med time! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

