hey you : life updates

Hey you.

It’s been quite a while, hasn’t it?

Thanks for your patience during my April break – it was extremely refreshing, but I’ve missed this a lot. I didn’t check Google Reader for a month and not only did my mornings just not feel right (I typically watch the news, review Reader, and have my coffee in the morning), but I also had unread posts in the double digits. Yikes that was intimidating to return to.

Remember this post? When I went on a rant about how I had no idea what to do with my life? Things have turned around remarkably in the last month – like you wouldn’t believe. Work, life, friendships, the weather, etc etc. But the most exciting thing is that I figured it out.

While I do love baking and beer, my first love is economics. Really and truly. I am so proud to say that I get unreasonably excited about the subject. What can I say? It just moves me. The trouble has been that during my four years of studying it at university, I was consistently told that my interest in it – as a social and philosophical subject, had no place in the field. The subject is and has been moving in the direction of wanting to be a hard science, with an ungodly amount of mathematics involved. Not only am I not interested in studying economics through derivatives, I truly think looking at it through the lens of human behavior and morality is a lot more pertinent to our everyday lives. Essentially, just mention Adam Smith or John Locke and I get embarrassingly psyched.

I love love school, have always planned on going to graduate school, but couldn’t reconcile studying economics by doing calculus for five years. So I started thinking about all the philosophy courses I took at uni, and the further I looked into programs, professors, books, so on and so forth, I discovered the discipline of philosophy of economics.

LIGHT BULB

After a lot of research, a lot of discussion with friends, family members, and professors, I decided to apply to Masters programs here in the fall, and doctoral programs after that, with the ultimate goal of teaching. (I’ll be taking a few more classes here as well to fill out some basics in philosophy I need) Since deciding this, I’ve just become so much happier with each passing day and am indescribably excited to have this sense of purpose now. And I’m stoked to get to study a subject I’m this passionate about. And to be a student. Have I mentioned how much I love learning? Could you tell?

I also turned 24 this week and had Zombie Dust on my birthday. That was really neat.

Again, thank you for your patience, and I’ll be coming back Monday for my lists and more beer related posts after that. Instead of 10 Things for Friday (everyone is doing lists on Friday these days), I’ll do these on Mondays to have at least something cheery for the start of your week.

Bisous,

Rebs

2 comments
  1. G-LO said:

    So when can we expect Reb-onomics to hit the shelves? 😉 Seriously though… congratulations on your breakthrough!

    Cheers!
    G-LO

Leave a Reply

