Hops & Heels: Flying Dog Wildeman Farmhouse IPA


I’ve slightly lost interest in doing traditional beer reviews for the moment, and am looking forward to trying out some new things here with the blog. I’d like to move back to my sweet and short thoughts about beers I’m trying that started the Thirsty Thirty last summer, and thanks to a light-bulb idea inspired by the blog Stouts and Stilettos, I think I found a new summer project. How does Hops & Heels sound?

All in all…
Oh hey! Spices! Belgianness! The real star in this beer is the spice, which I can’t put my finger on to identify, but it’s very flavorful. A few months back…er, a year back, I heard an interview on Splendid Table about using peppers, and how there is a sort of continuum of flavor/pure heat in peppers. Meaning that there are some peppers that have pure heat, but don’t offer as much flavor when they’re used in cooking, and then there are peppers that have a lot of flavor, but not as much pure heat. The perfect balance for me is a jalapeño. This is all to say that the spice in the Farmhouse IPA isn’t powerful, but is extremely tasty. I haven’t come across a Belgian beer yet that tries this, and I was happy with what they did here.

Recommend to a friend?
Yes, you should definitely try this.

Lightweight-safe?
7.5% ABV…Woopsies!

Plus one?
It’s such a pleasant beer to drink, because the spices are just so fun. However, with a 7.5% ABV I wouldn’t have another.

Get a six pack?
Oh yes. I would enjoy having several of these in the refrigerator.

The Hops
Flying Dog – Frederick, MD
Belgian IPA
7.5% ABV
Friendly Package Liquors, Muncie

The Heels
Merona Eireen Wedges
Target (2012)
$24.99

5 comments
  1. G-LO said:

    Gotta admit, I love what the ladies of Stouts & Stilettos are doing. Fun and playful! That’s what beer blogging should be all about. I mean, making beer is serious business. Drinking and reviewing it? Not so much!

    This beer sounds like good fun! I once had a Chili Beer many years ago in Oatman AZ (we got lost on Route 66 and were trying to find our way back to Vegas). One word about that beer: dreadful! But then I had the Ballast Point Indra Kunindra, courtesy of our friend The Alemonger, and that beer rekindled my curiosity for a spicy brew. We usually agree on beers, so I’ll definitely be on the lookout!

    Great review! And the pic: Tres Film Noir! And no, I don’t speak French. 🙂

    Cheers!
    G-LO

    • Heffenista said:

      Thanks so much for the compliments! I’m pretty sure you’re our number 1 fan at this point haha!

      • G-LO said:

        Yeah? I’ve never been a #1 anything. Things are looking up! 😉

  2. Heffenista said:

    I don’t think I’ve ever been told I inspired anything! This is awesome! Love the pic, love the review, and LOVE THE SHOES! Aren’t wedges the best? Looking forward to seeing more of this. I might have to start reblogging these…

Leave a comment