Hops & (no) Heels: 21st Amendment Hell or High Watermelon


Hell or High Watermelon has been on my wish list forever (meaning since March), and thanks to Happy Times Package in Decatur, Georgia, I finally get to try it! And yes, that’s the real name. One of the guys working gave me a high five on my way into the store, too – vacation store win! Package store win!

All in all…
I try not to read other reviews before I write anything about a beer, so I apologize in advance if this is what everyone else has said…Hell or High Watermelon = jolly ranchers. Great, delicious, juicy jolly ranchers. This beer is exactly what you expect from 21st’s description: it really is a straightforward wheat beer with a touch of watermelon flavor and aroma. It isn’t overflowing with watermelon, but is just like watermelon itself: refreshing and subtle. A perfect vacation beer!

Recommend to a friend?
I don’t know that everyone will like this one only because not everyone likes watermelon. I even have to be in the mood for watermelon, but boy does this satisfy a craving that may come along.

Lightweight-safe?
Sure thing

Plus one?
Yes, please!

Get a six pack?
Why yes I did. And I’m taking the other five back to Indiana with me!

The Hops
21st Amendment Brewery – San Francisco, CA
“Wheat Beer”
4.9% ABV
Happy Times Package, Decatur, Georgia

The Heels
Obviously nonexistent. You didn’t think I’d bring heels with me on vacation, did you?

4 comments
  1. G-LO said:

    You hit the nail on the head! This is uber refreshing, uber thirst quenching, and uber delicious. Is it weird? Of course it is. But weird is sometimes wonderful, especially when it’s this kind of weird. Interestingly enough, we had the wives try this last year, and they didn’t care for it. Apparently, this was an unexpected result.

    Cheers!
    G-LO

  2. tim said:

    I ran across your blog by the way of The Midwest Man, just cruising through reading your beer reviews, good stuff. I’m sure you already know but if not, you should go to The Herot they have a ton of good beer there.

    • thebakeandbrew said:

      Thanks Tim! And I love the Heorot – always has an insane amount of beers to choose from and a pretty neat atmosphere. If you haven’t tried Savages, definitely give it a go. Though it doesn’t have the same volume, it’s still my favorite place to go in town.

  3. Dave said:

    Hell or High Watermelon is one of my favorites…. that is all.

Leave a Reply

