25 Dishes Before 25

The word “and” as well as ampersands mean a lot to me. I’ve never been able to identify myself as just one thing or from just one place: I’m a reader, a writer, a baker, a golfer, a beer-lover, so on and so forth. I’m from Muncie, Georgia, Italy, and Paris. I’m composed of pieces from each place I’ve lived, different identities…I’m quite a few long sentences filled with lists. This leaves me open to a lot of different experiences in life, and I’m constantly looking around the corner for something new to learn. Right now I’m extremely happy to call myself a baker, but recently I’ve closed myself off to the possibility of being better at cooking, and I want to change that. I want to keep learning and growing in as many directions as possible.

My friend Ashley created a list of 25 things to do in her 25th year, which inspired this idea. My goal is to make 25 different dishes using ingredients I have never cooked or baked with, before I turn 25 (next May). I have started this small list (some are simple and inexpensive, some are pricier), I may remove or add ingredients/dishes, and I’d really love your ideas on what to make with these! My plan is to list the next ingredient with each of these posts so I can get some input and recommendations on how to use them.

I can’t wait to share this with you. And for my friends who live in the area – let’s do some of these together, yeah?

3 comments
  1. (1) I’d be happy to give you some Cherokee Purple heirloom tomatoes when you visit.
    (2) Let’s make duck in orange sauce. Assuming we can find a duck. Classic. Basic. French. (Some of my favorit adjectives.)

    • thebakeandbrew said:

      Yes! Let’s! A great way to celebrate Bastille Day.

  2. Heffenista said:

    I wish I would’ve done something cool like this before I turned 25 this year. Better work on stuff for 30…oh god 30.

Leave a Reply

