Hops & Heels: Allies Win the War

Remember me? I’m still here I promise. The last month has been a whirlwind of trying to ride my bike every day, starting classes, studying for the GRE, and trying to squeeze in as much summer fun as possible before autumn arrives. I just haven’t been able to wrap my head around working on posts here, but I miss you all like woah. Really and truly.

Lately I’ve also been in a real rut concerning beer. I’d like to write a separate post about it this week other than trying to fit it in here, so be on the lookout this week, mkay?

The Hops

I’m a sucker for anything WWII history related, so this Allies Win the War! had everything going for it…except for the dates. I kept seeing this beer pop up in beer blogs, and this packaging just reinforces one of the reasons I love cans – look how much design they can fit on that! I’ll be frank that this beer wasn’t for me, but I’m still glad I tried it. I’ve enjoyed all the other 21st Amendment beers I’ve tried in the past, and can we just take a look at that great (albeit blurry in this picture) beer can again?!

21st Amendment – San Francisco, CA
English style strong ale brewed with dates
8.5% ABV

Since this one isn’t for me, I’d recommend hearing these other folks out:
Beer Geek Nation
(video)
the New School
Lyrics Libations and Life

The Heels
UO Suede Pump
Urban Outfitters (2011)
$39.00
P.S. I found this skirt through ASOS, and I’m completely obsessed. It’s like a perfect candy cane striped, high-waisted A-line, and I just knew I had to use it for this beer.

3 comments
  1. G-LO said:

    I too was excited to try this beer and I too was ultimately disappointed. Since it was at least three months ago since I tried it, I can’t recall why I wasn’t thrilled. Great artwork on the can though!

    And speaking of artwork… great photo!

    Cheers!
    G-LO

  2. John Mann said:

    Love the picture! You should check out New Belgium’s Car for Bike trade program since you have a love of craft beer and bikes!
    http://www.newbelgium.com/events/tour-de-fat.aspx

    My friend did it last year and I’m considering it this year. Check it out, the Tour de Fat is so much fun!

    • thebakeandbrew said:

      Thank you for the recommendation and compliment! Unfortunately it’s already passed through my area but there’s always next year 🙂

Leave a Reply

