simple supper: pasta and red sauce

Pasta with red sauce

I wrote a few weeks ago about getting into a better rhythm in the evenings by making dinner, and I have to say it’s taken some patience and easy recipes. I’m starting off small and humble, but as I’m getting a few easy pasta dishes under my belt I’m feeling more brave about taking it up a notch. But for now, here’s one of my go-to pasta sauces.

Red Pasta Sauce 
Lovechild of The Best Pasta Sauce & Smitten Kitchen’s Pasta Sauce
Use with 6-8 ounces pasta, to make two small servings

1 can plain diced tomatoes
1 Tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
2 Tablespoons butter
1 small onion (the size of your palm)
1 garlic clove, smashed
handful of basil
1/4 – 1/3 cup fresh ricotta cheese
salt & pepper to taste

1. Heat olive oil on medium in a medium saucepan.
2. Finely chop onion and smash garlic. Sautee garlic & onion until onions are slightly clear and garlic is fragrant.
3. Drain can of tomatoes and pour into saucepan. If the garlic starts to brown sooner than the onions are ready, go ahead and pour the tomatoes in.
4. Let the tomatoes get to a simmer and drop the 2 Tablespoons butter in. Turn heat down to medium low, so that the tomatoes are barely bubbling. Let cook about 15 minutes.
5. Using a potato masher (I don’t have one so I used a clumsily use a whisk – it works with a little more effort), crush tomatoes until you have your desired consistency. Keep draining saucepan if the sauce is too watery.
6. Add basil leaves and let simmer five more minutes. Press basil until the leaves are soft.
7. Serve over 8 ounces of hot cooked pasta, add your dollop of ricotta and toss together until the dish is creamy.
8. Eat everything.

4 comments
  1. thebakeandbrew said:

    If I could find a Lovechild #3 I’d be very very happy.
    P.S. Found an awesome pairing in a 4 Hands IPA with orange peel & the lemon garlic squid ink pasta. Mmm mmm.

    • I didn’t even know there was such thing as squid ink pasta. Haha That’s awesome. I’ve never had anything from 4 Hands. Is that a St. Louis brewery?

      • thebakeandbrew said:

        Yup, it’s one of the many (so many) craft breweries here. The Contact High (described above) was the first one I’ve had of theirs. It was scrumptious.

Leave a Reply

